My daughter is 18

What a great day today. I had the opportunity to spend my daughters 18th birthday with her. I woke her up this morning singing to her and giving her a card and a small vanilla birthday cake ice cream. We all went to church and hung out today and finished off with a dinner of her choice and cupcakes. It was nice. Not as BIG as one would hope for, but nice to be with her and to celebrate the day with her. Even more nice that she wanted to spend the day with us. We are about to finish up the evening watching a “Pitch Perfect” which is also her choice.

Kids growing up is challenging. I can’t tell her what to do any more, but I can give her guidance. However, I have to be cautious with what I choose to say. I can’t step on toes and push her away, but I don’t want to appear uninterested. I struggle with the choices that she is making and the life that she is choosing, but the truth is that I love her and I am proud to be her mom. I didn’t make the best choices in my life either. I am proud to see her strength and determination to be her own person and push towards a better life.

It hurts my heart that her father is not an active part of her life by his choice. He has no idea what he is missing out on. It also hurts to know that the man that I married is the one opportunity that she had to have a dad and he destroyed her. I wish I could go back and make different choices, but it is now a part of her story. I will forever choose to encourage and love her and try my best to make sure that she knows beyond a shadow of a doubt that the men that have chosen to treat her as less than the amazing person that she is are the ones at fault. She is perfectly her and does not need to change a single thing. She is a beautiful princess of God and a blessing from above.

Tomorrow is a new day and a new week. I am excited to see what God has in store this week. There are lots of “bigs” that are happening. I think there is a big thing every day and I am excited to get to experience all of them.

Be blessed and be a blessing. God is good and God is a real part of every minute of every day!

Speak Your Mind

