God Speaks

One of my goals this year is to study the bible more. I am not always sure how to do that, but I am making a go at it. Tonight, I opened up my bible app and the verse of the day is 2 Peter 3:9 ”The Lord int really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does to want anyone to be destroyed, but wants every one to repent”

I am pretty good at just living my life and waiting for whatever promises God has for me to come. I am not very impatient in that area, but that has not always been the case. I used to freak out all of the time and do what I could to make happen what I thought needed to happen, which is how I ended up married. Every time I have forced an issue because God was too slow for me it has not ended well, my divorce is one of the end results of my impatience for God’s timing.

I guess that is a form of growth, but when I took the time to really think about it, I have discovered that, although patient, I still am not doing things right. I fill my time to overflowing. I am always on the go and seldom have time to do things that need to be done like household chores, spending quality time with friends or the most important thing which is spending real time with God. It has become clear to me over the last few months that I need to really spend time in the word and really seek out what God’s desires for my life are. When I read this verse, I am aware that in my case, God is not slow. He is being patient for my sake by waiting for me to put him first. Until I do so, he cannot work fully in my life. It is like I am settling for half blessings. I don’t know about you, but I want all that he offers. I am not really the type to turn down gifts. 🙂

Speak Your Mind

