What do I know of Holy?

As I sit here before the sun is up drinking my coffee and spending time with Jesus, I find myself distracted. My brothers baby was just born yesterday and there is a website that I can go to watch him and I am so in awe of this beautiful being and although he is in the NICU, he looks perfect and is so active. I want to reach out and touch him. Hold him. Love on him. I want to be in his room holding his hand and praying over him. If you knew my brother and the battles he has had to face, you would understand just how much of a beautiful moment this is. My brother is wonderful and has endured a lot. I just want him to be able to take his little bundle of blessings home and enjoy his family and this next phase of his life.

While in my distraction, this song came on and moved me into focus. This song rang so true. My whole existence I have worked so hard to be the person that I thought I was supposed to be. I have tried to be or maybe I should say tried to look just right, but I never really stopped to listen to Jesus. I never really stopped to understand who he is. As life goes on and as I get closer to Jesus, I learn so much more about him. When I stop and I am quiet and allow Him to speak, I actually hear from Him and those are incredible moments. In this song, she says “and then I caught a glimpse of who you might be”. That is where I feel like I am at. I am catching glimpses. I am just beginning to get to know who Jesus is and just beginning to gain an understanding of how much he loves me! Can you even imagine just how overwhelming it would be to completely grasp the magnitude of God’s love? Just how full would our lives be? How different would our lives look? How much would we be able to touch the lives of others if we truly knew and understood and received Gods love in all of its fullness? Would we see the homeless person the same way or would we love on that person? Would we read news articles and criticize and judge the child who took their moms car and kills someone or would our hearts break and would we get down on our knees and pray for that child? Would we scoff at the single mom whose child is throwing a fit in the store or would we love on her? Would we judge the person who is difficult or would we ask Jesus to show us how He sees that person?

What do I know of Holy and if I knew, I mean fully knew, what would life look like?

“I guess I thought that I had figured You out..I knew all the stories and I learned to talk about…How You were mighty to save” – I am coming to an understanding of this line this week. I was raised in church. I know the stories. And honestly, everyone knows about Adam and Eve and the beginning of existence, but as I re read the bible starting at Genesis, it is coming alive and I can’t seem to even get through it because there is so much that stops me in my tracks because I just didn’t know it. I didn’t know so many details. I knew the big things, but OH MY GOODNESS! There is SO MUCH MORE! It is exciting and I just want to soak it all up! Who is this person who created us? Why do I take advantage of his existence? Why am I not on my knees thanking him for the gift that only he could have given me? Why do I fret? Why am I ever stressed out or worried about anything? What do I know of Holy?

As I think of my brother and just how excited I am for this time in his life, it makes me stop. Jesus is more excited than I can ever comprehend. He is rooting for me. Cheering for me. Running beside me. Carrying me when I need to be carried. He is knocking on my door waiting for me to answer. He is laughing with joy as I keep talking waiting for me to just stop so that he can breathe words of life into me and just blow me away. What do I know of Holy?

Stir my heart up oh God! Show me who you are. Show me just how much you love me so that in turn I can love other people more. Let me see people the way that you see them and take the judgmental blinders off of my eyes. Open my ears so that I can hear you. I want to know the magnitude of your love. I want to be overwhelmed by your existence and who you are. I want to know you. I want to know of Holy.

“What Do I Know Of Holy”

I made You promises a thousand times
I tried to hear from Heaven
But I talked the whole time
I think I made You too small
I never feared You at all No
If You touched my face would I know You?
Looked into my eyes could I behold You?

[CHORUS]
So What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
So What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

I guess I thought that I had figured You out
I knew all the stories and I learned to talk about
How You were mighty to save
Those were only empty words on a page
Then I caught a glimpse of who You might be
The slightest hint of You brought me down to my knees

[CHORUS]
So What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
So What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

[CHORUS 2]
What do I know of Holy?
What do I know of wounds that will heal my shame?
And a God who gave life it’s name?
What do I know of Holy?
Of the One who the angels praise?
All creation knows Your name
On earth and heaven above
What do I know of this love?

[CHORUS]
So What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

What do I know of Holy?
What do I know of Holy?

Speak Your Mind

