Positive Thursday, The Day Before Friday!

stay positive

 

I love the birth of Positive Thursday and I am excited to keep it going! It is easy to fall away from all things positive in this world.

Sunday was Mother’s Day as we all know. In the past, I have not been a fan of Mother’s Day. It is too stressful. Too much pressure, too many people, too much waiting, kids whine too much, and on and on and on. Well, last year something snapped in me and my distaste for Mother’s Day was gone. I chose to see the blessing in the day and that I had it all wrong for some many years. You see, in the past, I made it about me. I wanted to relax. I wanted to be left alone. I wanted to have a day all to myself, but last year I decided that it wasn’t about my comfort, but about the roll of a mom.

Mom’s are blessed. We get to pour into our kids daily. We have the opportunity to be patient, kind, and loving. We have the blessing of whiny kids, because if they are whining, they are comfortable enough to be themselves. As a mom, I have an awesome opportunity to help shape my kids lives and their futures. I get to show them what it is like to let Jesus love us and to let Jesus strengthen us to get through even the most stressful of times, like dinner with a million other people on Mother’s Day. I am rewarded with hugs, kisses, and homemade gifts. I get to clean up the messes after a day of serving me. Mom’s are blessed.

This Mother’s Day, not only was I blessed by all three of my kids, but Jesus blessed myself and my two younger ones. It was a beautiful opportunity to allow Jesus to do something for us even if we didn’t set out to have that happen. We went to church in the morning and after church we decided that we were going to make a delicious dessert and watch a movie. Well, we got home and the DVD player was not working, so what is the natural thing to do? Go out and buy an new DVD player of course! So, we get in the car and all of us make a collective decision to head to Target to get a new DVD player. Well, for some reason, just as I was about to turn towards target, I remembered that there was a Goodwill Redesign close to us, so I turned the opposite way and decided we were getting a used one. As soon as we hit the parking lot, my two boys (5 & 7) started praying. They prayed that we would find a DVD player for under $5. As if that was not a blessing enough, we went into the store, the boys played with all kinds of little gadgets and I started searching through the electronics. I came across two of the exact same DVD players. One was $7.99 and the other was $4.99. Guess what we did? We chose the one under $5.00. Jesus totally hooked us up at that moment.

Off we went to our house to watch our movie and eat our delicious dessert. My kids were a joy and they were tuckered out by the time bedtime came. They fell asleep before their heads hit the bed! Choosing to look at Mother’s Day as a joy and not a burden significantly impacted the day. It is beautiful! Positive thoughts get positive results!

Today is Thursday. The day before Friday. I choose to be positive. #ichoosethankfulness

Stay Gold: The Weekly Positivity Link-up!

Speak Your Mind

