Yet another post about Thanksgiving!

i_love_thanksgiving_sticker-r2a34e421474b48fdb46d3e3fa1ed9721_v9waf_8byvr_512

     Everybody is posting about Thanksgiving. Almost every blog post I come across is another one about the holidays and some blah blah blah about blah blah blah… Well GUESS WHAT????

Here is another one!!!!!!! Because

I-Love-Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday. It is the only holiday that we do not expect gifts and stress ourselves out forgetting the meaning of the day. It is the only holiday that we choose to spend time with family and friends stuffing ourselves until we can’t move and thinking it is okay to do so. People are in a good mood and they are genuinely just there to eat and be in the company of friends and family.

I realize that is not the case for some. Holidays for sure bring out the crazy in all of us and there are some people that no matter what the day it is stressful, but for me I LOVE IT!!! I really am excited this year because I am hosting the day at my house. I have fought with the insecurity of my home not being perfect. I have had to fight back the desire to spend money that I don’t have to make things look better than they really are. I have had to remind myself that my house is what it is and that the appearance of perfect is not always perfect, so this year I am embracing the kinks in my home. I am understanding that it is not going to look like a model home and I am focusing on the joy of having MY family under one roof! It has been so long since we have all been together and this year there are so many things to be thankful for. I have myself and my kids, but this year I am so blessed to have my brother and his family, my sister and her family, my mom and little sister, my dad and other mother, my daughter and her son. It is a new season. So many cousins together. So many tiny humans in one place. We are the next generation. It is our time to create memories for our kids and to start traditions of our own. I am so excited, thankful and blessed. What an awesome season.

To add to it, this is a new season for me. A new decade. I just finished a class called mending the soul and have experienced such freedom in some areas. I feel like a new person. I know that I still have growth and that there will be more freedom to come, but this was a huge step for me. It was emotionally challenging! I had to be real, like really real with myself. I couldn’t hide behind a mask or pretend that things were what they were not. I walked through some crazy emotions and revelations with three women that 12 weeks ago I didn’t even know existed. These women are now soul sisters who know things that those closest to me don’t even know. Things I didn’t even know myself. We have walked miles with each other, we have cried together, laughed, rejoiced and prayed for each other. We did a brave thing and I am so glad that we did.

This thanksgiving I can genuinely say that I am thankful for the incredibly horrible things that I have had happen in my life. I am not thankful because I would ever wish to go through it again, but I am thankful because it is a part of who I am today. It gives me an opportunity to see God’s work first hand and to see that I am a new creation. It gives me hope and faith. Things may have been bad, but they could have been worse. God’s hand was on my life. I made choices. I put myself in unsafe situations. Ugly things happened, but I am here today. I am physically able.

You know what else? Today, I can trust God. It is hard and it is challenging, but He is good. He loves me and He will give me the desires of my heart. I want to jump for joy! I want to run through the streets and tell everyone that Jesus loves them. I want to share the joy that is in my heart. I want to share the hope. I want to share the excitement.

My life is not perfect. Not by a long shot. I do not have everything figured out. Most days I am not sure that I have anything figured out. I am thankful that I do not have to have everything figured out. I have hopes, dreams, and desires. I know in my heart of hearts what I want, but I can’t see the big picture. It is because I can’t see the big picture that I think it is so cool that I can sit back and say “Hey God, you take over. I’m just going to keep moving forward expectantly and wait for you to blow me away with your awesomeness!”

Thanksgiving. Always a time of reflection. This Thanksgiving will be my favorite one yet because I have so much to be thankful for!

It's Thanksgiving

Oh, and I am equally excited about Christmas, but there is NO WAY that Christmas will begin in this house until the day AFTER thanksgiving. Santa and his elves will just have to wait their turn!

funny-thanksgiving-pics

What are you thankful for this year?

Speak Your Mind

